The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom

26 06 2012

I have a special place in my heart for funny books.  My favorites have always been the books that make me laugh.  I distinctly remember a book I read in 5th grade called Upchuck Summer that had me rolling on the floor and sharing the hilarious parts with my friends.   I loved SuperfudgeRamona the Brave, and the poems of Shel Silverstein.

As I got older, I kept reading funny stories like The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Catch-22, and books by Christopher Moore.

Lately, as a teacher, when I read kids’ books, the ones I seem to enjoy most are the clever, funny ones.  The Origami Yoda books, Peter and the Starcatchers, the Whimpy Kid books, and The True Meaning of Smekday are some of the best I’ve read recently.  You can go ahead and add The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy to that list.

The Hero’s Guide actually has four heroes.  They’re all Princes Charming.  You see, the bards (old fashioned musical storytellers) didn’t quite get those old fashioned stories right – the stories of Cinderella, Snow White, Rapunzel, and Sleeping Beauty focused on the damsels in distress, but not the heroic princes that saved them.  These four princes now have something to prove, so they set out for adventure, eventually teaming up to form the League of Princes Charming and fight an evil witch, a simple giant, a scary dragon, and a band of evil bandits.

Prince Charming is really one of literature’s most famous characters, but no one knows anything about him (or them), not even his real name.  This book is a hysterical spin on those old fairy tales, giving depth, character, and charm to all four Princes Charming.

I highly recommend this one to any fans of comedy, fantasy, or adventure books.

This summer I have a quest to read 90 books in 90 days.  This was #28.  

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

