The Big Wave 5

24 05 2011

To give you an idea of how the Japanese people work... The picture on the left is March 12, 2011 - the day after the earthquake. The picture on the right is just 6 days later.

Pearl S. Buck wrote The Big Wave more than 70 years before the 2011 earthquake and tsunami in Japan, yet there are so many similarities between what happened in the book and what happened in real life.

Often times “life imitates art,” which means that things often happen in real life just they way they’ve happened in a story, a book, a play, or a movie.  This might be one time when it’s true.

Think about what you know about Japan, as well as what you learned from the story about the Japanese mindset and their attitudes toward life and death.     Have your thoughts on Japan’s recovery from the 2011 tsunami changed since reading The Big Wave?  How?  Predict what you think will happen in the affected areas of Japan over the next year or so.

Be sure to type out your answers in complete sentences.  Be sure to back up your ideas with some examples, evidence, or proof.   Be sure to check back and see what other people say too.  Be sure to comment on what they say.

Actions

Information

126 responses

24 05 2011
jenna l

my thoughts have changed about the recovery of japan after reading the big wave. i used to think that the clean up would take years but now i only think it will take months at the most a year. i think this because the big wave explained the way of a good Japanese. the theory is that once they have protected other people and them selves will they focus on helping rebuild the area they are in and then will all of their attention be on their loved ones. if they died then they will mourn for a little bit and then continue their lives.

24 05 2011
Autumn E.

Same here! I’m almost positive that all or most of Japan will be recovered by the time TAP goes there.

24 05 2011
Carli C.

those are good thoughts. i agree. japan is almost fully running. only a few more months…

24 05 2011
Mackenzie C.

Nice job Jenna, that is similar to what I think. It doesn’t take them that long to get back up on their feet.

24 05 2011
Jes B.

That is a great explanation Jenna and your right we can’t bring loved ones back but we can remember them.

24 05 2011
Jade R.

I agree with you all the way. They don’t show their fear in anyway.

24 05 2011
Sam I

I agree. I think they will be almost done rebuilding in about a year. Great thinking Jenna.

24 05 2011
jose bopo quiroz

that is a good example because they dont sit there what they do is try to make everything better right away.b

24 05 2011
SarahL

I do agree that my thought did change about how Japan survives many things in their cites.

24 05 2011
Autumn E.

My opinion has definitely changed. I used to think they feared death just like most people, but now I know they’re better than that. The Japanese never take anything for granted and accept the fact that they will die. After reading this book, I know Japan will recover quickly from the Tsunami in March. They don’t let their emotions get in the way of work. Until the Japanese people rebuild everything, they must block everything out and focus on the people they can save. Over the next year or so, I believe Japan will completely or be really close to fully recovering. This is how I feel after reading The Big Wave.

24 05 2011
jenna l

i agree with you autumn most people do fear death but we have to learn to set it aside and continue on with our lives. just like the way of the good japanese.

24 05 2011
Autumn E.

Yeah it’s kind of hard to. Honestly we could all die today, but we can’t fear it . We have to just continue living.

24 05 2011
Jes B.

Do you fear death? I do. 😦

24 05 2011
Brianna

I agree with you Jenna, most people do but the Jappanese people don’t. Why do you think other people fear death??

24 05 2011
jenna l

it is true we could all die today but no one knows not any mayans r scientists but we have to live life to the fullest and not look back and dread the things of the past.

24 05 2011
Autumn E.

@ Jes
Sometimes.. Only when I truly think about it. Other times I just shrug because I know for a fact I will die.

24 05 2011
Carli C.

I didn’t even think about their emotions. Thanks for putting that. its a way i realize.

24 05 2011
Autumn E.

Yes! They can’t let emotions get in the way of their work or helping people. It’s sad that they can’t feel sorry for themselves until Japan is put back together.

24 05 2011
jenna l

there emotions are very keen in their lives if they live posotive lives and mind sets then they will be successful in living the way of a good japanese.

24 05 2011
SarahL

I agree with you and that was very good of what you about Japan.

25 05 2011
Autumn E.

Thanks. I’m happy you agree.

24 05 2011
Claire G.

I predict that the Japanese will have almost everything major fixed within the next year. I predict this because of their mindset, how they do not fear life and also how they think natural disasters are a time to start over. If they could repair that road in less than 7 days imagine how many roads they have already repaired. Also, there are many troops over in Japan helping them clean up, repair, and make the city better than it was before.

24 05 2011
Lauren W.

Claire, what do you mean, Japanese can’t fear life?

24 05 2011
Claire G.

they don’t fear natural disasters.

31 05 2011
Lauren W.

Oh, that makes more sense. Thanks Claire!!!

24 05 2011
Mackenzie C.

Nice thought Claire, I mean it’s not exactly what I thought but it is similar. I like it! 🙂

24 05 2011
Brianna

I thought the same thing, it’s kind of like after something bad happens they think of it as a chance to start over and make things better then before.

24 05 2011
Carli C.

fear life? isn’t it fear death?

24 05 2011
Grant O.

I agree they use the disaster as a time to start over and make their country better than it was.

31 05 2011
Collin D.

Though if they use it to rebuild it may end in disappointment because they know that things like this will happen again. there will be more earthquakes and if they rebuild better it may just all be destroyed again.

24 05 2011
Mackenzie C.

No, I do not think it has changed because they will always be good Japanese. They will fight for anything and will not give upon their country because of a wave or an earthquake. Once they fall they get right back up. They are like a bouncy ball, they drop but come back up. Nothing can happen to Japan and they give up on it.
I think in the next year when Minooka Tap leaves for Japan it will be like it was three months ago,all in tip top shape! They will not give up, even if Godzilla comes back do you think they are going to cry after it is over…NO! They will be back to building their country to the way it was. So, in year nothing will be wrong with Japan, I mean it won’t be perfect, but no one is going to still be crying. Just remember, live life like there is no tomorrow.

24 05 2011
Maisie M.

I agree, the Japanese are very dignified people. They don’t give up on what they want and live life to the fullest like you said! I also think that Japan will be back to normal or possibly even better than it was before when the Minooka TAP group all goes to Japan! Something or some place like Japan is too important to completely let go of. Great response Mackenzie!

24 05 2011
Sean C

Yes.Because they seem braver now that i read the big wave because they seem like their not afraid of death and now the japanese are rebuilding at speeds i never thought were possible because they can fix roads in 6 days. Even when their are big holes in the ground. In the next year i think that everything is going to be rebuilt in Japan and almost nothing is going to be needing to be rebuilt!

24 05 2011
Ammar I.

I agree at this rate the japan will be back to normal.

24 05 2011
Carli C.

I am sure that Japan will heal quickly. Judging by that picture, they work fast. Now, I don’t think that people in Japan are crazy. I used to, though. I thought that it would be horrible to live in a place with so much destruction. There is an enormous chance of death every day. But that is probably good. There, you learn to respect all the little things. You have a better understanding of life. You don’t focus in the death or destruction. You focus on the good and the new life. in a year, Japan will be up and running smoothly again. It is already near that, actually. They are operating well for what just happened. some car industries are still shut down, but they are working fast and are near done. I hope they continue their reconstruction of the wonderful nation.

24 05 2011
Lauren W.

Carli, I agree with you, before we started this book, I thought Japanese people were crazy for living in a place with so much destruction.

24 05 2011
Carli C.

Yeah, I would NOT want to live in a Death Sandwich.

24 05 2011
Mackenzie C.

Exactly, they work fast and easy. Also, I think they are crazy, but in a good way!!

24 05 2011
Claire G.

i totally agree!!!!!

24 05 2011
Jes B.

That is exactly what I think. If Japan is as strong and brave as the book makes it out too be they will be fine. Don’t you think?

24 05 2011
Alex R.

I believe that Japan will be back to normal in less than a year. With their work ethic they could repair cities in months instead of years. The only thing that could go wrong is the nuclear plant. If it explodes then a lot of work will be destroyed. If nothing on a large scale like that happens then Japan will be normal in less than a year.

24 05 2011
Claire G.

but, the radiation from the nuclear plant has been better.

24 05 2011
Carli C.

but it is still spreading and there is no obvious solution to fix it.

24 05 2011
Ammar I.

That radiation problem isn’t that bad now.

24 05 2011
Jes B.

Japan has a lot too recover from. But, I believe that they will be alright. In a year or so every thing will be close to the way it was. Everything will be as close as it was possible. But, not everything will be the same. We can’t bring loved ones back from the dead and we can’t give people back the precious things the have lost but we can rebuild cities and we can help the wounded. The Big Wave made me realize that the Japanese are strong people and they do not fear death and they live without fearing it. everyone will die but not everyone has to live a life in sorrow. I now know that we can do a lot for Japan and that even though this horrible thing happened too them the keep on living and they don’t give up. We should look to these people as role models for what the do. The Japanese are strong and brave people and I envy them for that. This book really changed my ideas about the Japanese.

24 05 2011
Claire G.

they do have a lot to recover from but they also have a lot of people to help them.

24 05 2011
Autumn E.

Same here! I have always loved Japan for what they make, but not really for the people. Now I see them as role models. They taught me to live life to the fullest and never fear death. Great response! ^^
~Black*Star/Al/Sebastian XD

24 05 2011
jenna l

this is so true jes, although some scientists say that humans are just mixtures of chemicals that supply a protein compound. this can not be possible because then who really created the first human, there for we cannot bring back loved ones and will miss them but eventually we will be able to live in the present and keep the good memories of that person tucked away in the safe place of our hearts.

24 05 2011
Eva R.

I think they will be alright too. They shouldn’t just sit there and do nothing. They should just get back to work fixing up they’re village or city. I mean crying or feeling bad for themselves won’t help them any. They actually need to do something. And I say this in the most nicest way I can.

24 05 2011
Lauren W.

Since reading The Big Wave, my thoughts on Japan’s 2011tsunami recovery have definitely changed. Now, I think that Japan will recovery quickly, and 2 weeks ago, I would of thought it would take Japan a long time to recover. I think Japan will recover quickly because since Japan is located where many natural disasters occur, the people of Japan have to be brave and learn to move on with their lives.
Personally, in my opinion, I think Japan will be back to normal in a year, give or take a few months. Although Japan has suffered recently through several traumatizing events, the Japanese people have the mental attitude to move on with their lives. Like Kino’s father says in the Big Wave, people that live in Japan have to live their life, and not fear death. To me this also means that to live your life, you can’t fear the death that has come to your loved ones,and you must on. I admire Japan for this attitude, because I don’t think that I will ever be able to live my life this way.

24 05 2011
Claire G.

same here, until i read the bug wave i thought it would take japan years to recover but after reading the bug wave i think it will take them 2 years at the most.

24 05 2011
Lauren W.

Do you think Japan will be normal by the time Mr.Curtis goes there for TAP?

24 05 2011
Hailey A.

I thought that it would take Japan a long time to recover too, until I read the book. I like how you said that they have a good mental attitude, well worded. If you did live in Japan and couldn’t live the way they did, what would you do to move on?

24 05 2011
Adriana B

I think it might take them about to years at most because of all the times this has happened they are use to it

24 05 2011
Ammar I.

Japan will be better before a year at this rate. Yes people have died but people have a life to live and needs to fix up japan. In the 2 pictures in the question it took only 6 days to fix a long road heavily damaged. 6 DAYS!!! To the U.S if this happened it would take near or more than 2 months. Reason is Japan had a tsunami but the way of a good Japanese isn’t just crying and being scared. There are thousands of roads in Japan it took 6 days for just one.This is similar to the book because they also acted the way of a good Japanese don’t be afraid of death. Somebody dies, be sad later you need to rebuild Japan. But here if we get a tsunami it takes longer to fix one road. So in the next year it will be done.

24 05 2011
Bryce Connor Kurtz

I agree with you about the u.s. If construction restores a road, it takes them months. Roads under construction in Plainfield seem to just be there and never really be worked on.

24 05 2011
Grant O.

I think that Japan will be pretty much back to normal in one year. The tsunamis devastation was huge but the Japanese mindset is even bigger. The people will not rest until the country is back the way it was before March 2011. Before i read the Big Wave I thought that it would be impossible for Japan to be back to normal before mr. Curtis went to Japan for TAP next June. Now that thought has changed. The Japanese people amazed me by their courage and bravery. For the Japanese the tragedy was just another earthquake. For most of them it will happen again in their lifetime. In the Big Wave Jiya learned to not only live in constant danger but stand up to it and not be afraid. If a completely destroyed highway can be fixed in 6 days then I think a country can be rebuilt in a year. The Japanese people learned to live in danger and to not fear death but live life to the fullest.

24 05 2011
Mackenzie C.

Yeah, that is similar to what I am thinking!! Nice Job Grant!!!!!

24 05 2011
NateJiG

I entirely agree, Grant. They help each other, no matter what the expense. Here in America, though, we only care about money and expensive things. If there was a homeless person in Japan (like there are many now), they would build a house for them. If there was a homeless person in America (which there are a lot of them), they would walk by them and maybe even kick them. We wouldn’t even give them spare change. Greed has taken over this world.

24 05 2011
Isabel T.

After reading the Big Wave my opinion of Japan has definitely changed. When the 2O11 earthquake and tsunami hit I automatically thought that Japan would never be the same and things would change for them. But now after seeing how the village reacts to the tsunami in the Big Wave, I believe that Japan can recover from the tragedy that took so many lives and destroyed so many things. I believe that they can do this because in the book Kino’s father mentions several times that “Life is stronger then death” meaning that to live in fear of death is rediculous considering all of us are going to die one day weather we like the idea or not. So the Japaneese chose to live without fear which makes them stronger not only as a group or villiage but as a country. And being a strong country will help them over come any obstacle. So for now they just re-build things that were taken away and improve the things they can for they are not afraid for anything else to happen. They pretty much look at tragedies like this as a do over to change things they didnt like before, but to also along the way they appricate the things that they do have and the things they can change, as a country.

24 05 2011
Isabel T.

*ridiculous

24 05 2011
Martina K..

I agree. Living as a strong country pretty much makes them unstoppable. They can face any challenging obstacle because they work together. The way of a good japanese if great

24 05 2011
Brianna

After reading The Big Wave my thoughts about the 2011 tsunami in Japan have changed. Before reading The Big Wave, I thought it would take a really long time to have Japan back to normal. But now I think it might just take a few years. Because Jiya was dealing with the same thing. Since it only took Jiya a few years to heal, I’m guessing it will be the same for Japan. But Jiya had Kino and Kino’s family help him heal faster. So I think that if Japan gets help, they can be back to normal just as fast as Jiya did.
I think that in a few years when Japan is rebuilt, everything will be better then before. Now everyone is kind of braver. They won’t be afraid anymore, now they know that they could have a tsunami at anytime. Or something else bad could happen. So I think people won’t be afraid anymore. And all of these tsunamis and bad things that don’t kill them will make them braver and less afraid.

24 05 2011
Lauren W.

You said that you think Japan could be back to normal in a couple of years, if they have help. Do you think that Japan has the mental strength to rebuild their country alone?

24 05 2011
Antonio M

I agree, but i think Japan will can be rebuilt faster than a few years

24 05 2011
Alejandro Sanchez

I agree, if you looked at the picture in the question it shows how fast japan can rebuild.

24 05 2011
SarahL

I do agree with and how some thoughts changes after reading the big wave and how bad Japan survive from the tsunami.

24 05 2011
Hailey A.

I believe that in one year Japan will almost be fixed. They will be able to quickly build buildings and get more food. One thing they won’t be able to replace is the people who have lost their lives from these disasters, but the people of Japan are gonna have to take the death and push through it to get all the cities and towns fixed. This is part of the way you live life like a Japanese would. By living this way they will be more productive and finish rebuilding their towns. That’s when they can take time to remember their loved ones.
The Big Wave has changed my opinion about Japan. I used to think that they were almost always sad and they would never get over the loss of a loved one. Now that I have read this book I think that Japan isn’t always sad and that they can easily get over the loss of a loved one. It made me think wow, these people are crazy yet very smart and brave. Without being able to get through the loss of loved ones most of Japan would still be damaged from a while ago.
This is what I think will be done and fixed in Japan and also how the Big Wave has changed my opinion about the life of a Japanese. The world would be better if we could all live the way of a Japanese.

26 05 2011
Ricky M

I honestly agree with you about the fixes.

24 05 2011
NateJiG

When i think about Japan now after reading the big wave I think about how they can stand living in a place with tsunamis, earthquakes, and volcanoes ready to kill you at any moment. They look death in the eye and say “We’re not scared” and use the natural disasters to their advantage. When there is an earthquake and it causes a tsunami, they get fish. When a volcano erupts, the ash fertilizes the soil making it better for farming. Even when the disasters do cause some damage, they fix it, and fast. Remember when they rebuilt Jiya’s village, and look at the picture Mr. Curtis posted with the question. Japan has something we don’t. The power to enjoy the little things. Its so hard for us because we have many things that Japan would appreciate, but we don’t because we have something else making that thing look like crap. When Japan keeps getting hit by Tsunamis, Earthquakes, and Volcanoes, they only have the little things. That is the only way we appreciate those things its when they’re the only things we’ve got. That’s how its always been, even in a zombie movie I’ve seen. The survivors enjoyed the little things because there was nothing else to enjoy. Japan has just gotten used to the fact that there are only little things to enjoy, so they praise and enjoy those little things all year round.

24 05 2011
Martina K..

My thoughts on visiting Japan have changed a lot. Not only because they made a miraculous recovery so far, but also after reading “The Big Wave.” I learned that actually living by a volcano and ocean is good for the economy. I had also learned that the Japanese have a unique way of living. Instead of fearing death they just live their life until the end of it. They don’t fear of what’s to come, an even if something bad does happen, they take it has a fun challenge. They face the tragedies and continue on with their life. They don’t let anything stop them from living their life, because they don’t fear death. Weeks ago I believed Japan was a country with full of regular Japanese people. Now i see that they are very brave and know that life is stronger than death. This causes them to appreciate the little things in life, that we Americans take advantage of. I know that if i visit Japan now, almost half of the destroyed things will be fixed or rebuilt. Japanese have had this type of horrible events happen before, so they know how to recover. I predict in the affected areas of Japan, will be rebuilt and fixed up in the next year or so. And i think they might even add more beauty to it and make it look better. They will also learn from their mistakes and make the buildings sturdier to see if a tsunami can bring it down now. I predict Japan will almost be as good as new in the next year or so. Maybe they’re trying to beat their record and see how fast they can do it. But Japan will definitely recover unless something else bad happens again. I wonder what would happen if something bad occurred? 🙂

24 05 2011
Danielle E

I think that you are right with what you are saying

24 05 2011
Alejandro Sanchez

To me I think that japan is going to be a better place in a few years. The picture that I just saw real improved my thoughts about japan. only six days after the 2011 tsunami in japan and they already built some roads that were destroyed in the earthquake.
In the book the Japanese people went back to regular life excepting the fact that one day the big wave might come again. They just say I don’t care I will build my house on this beach and if the big wave comes I will leave my house. The Japanese people in the book rebuilt and went back to regular life.
To me I think japan has a good chance of rebuilding in a year. They dealt with the problems first and then started to rebuild. The book describes japan well because in the book they were hard working and they still are hard working people now.

24 05 2011
Bryce Connor Kurtz

I think the people of Japan think a lot differently than we do in America. They know how to deal with big natural disasters. In the U.S., not as serious waves hit here. People of Japan use the good Japanese way to think better of the situation.
My thoughts have changed. Before, I thought it take at least a year for Japan to recover.But after I saw that photo that Mr.Curtis posted above, i learned it wouldn’t take as long. The Big Wave showed how people use the “good Japanese way”.
I think that if a majorly-tore road can be repaired in 6 days, the country can be fixed in a year. If people put in hard work everyday, eventually Japan will be back to normal. People learn to not be afraid of death after they are used to dealing with problems, like Jiya.

24 05 2011
Joseph A

I agree with you. Japan will be up and running within a year. They move past from horrible tragedies way different from us

24 05 2011
Antonio M

After reading the Big Wave my thoughts about the 2011Japan tsunami have extremely changed. I thought that Japan would fear that another tsunami might hit and not rebuild the city for it to be destroyed again. However after reading the Big Wave I realized the people of Japan live their life without fearing death. If a tsunami wrecks their villages they think it is a chance to start over. Their mindset is that were going to die some day and we can’t do anything to stop it so you have to face the fact that you can’t live forever. They also think that other people in this world need the chance to live their life besides themselves. Over the next year or so I think the areas affected by the 2011 tsunami will be back to normal. Many of the things there are already rebuilt. For example just six days after the earthquake roads were back to driving conditions. Japan doesn’t care if another tsunami comes; they are just going to keep rebuilding because they are very brave people. Just imagine how much stuff is already fixed if roads can be rebuilt in just 6 days. The Big Wave really changed my way of thinking about the Japanese mindset.

24 05 2011
Joseph A

I agree with how you explained it. They face the fact that it happened so they moved on. They started rebuilding the roads already. They will be done rebuilding in no time.

24 05 2011
Mr. Obbins

I think that Japan doesn’t really care. Japan is a fighting country. Japan is just like the people in Zombieland. They don’t fear death. No matter where they go or what they do they can’t fear death or fear will be the death of them. The Japanese are just like that. If they live a life of fear, they will be miserable and afraid of anything. Just like in Zombieland, people survive because they have something to fight for. Life and love. Love can be anything from hearing the birds chirp to destroying a truck stop. That is what keeps people moving. Japan is basicly a living Zombieland.

24 05 2011
Jade R.

I agree. Japan is dangerous and a fighting country. They don’t stop for anything. They do practically live in Zombieland. Would you go there if you could?I might.

24 05 2011
D.J.C.

That is exactly right. The people of Japan just go on with their lives. They never worry until they are back to normal.

24 05 2011
Collin

My thoughts on japans recovery have changed. Now after reading that book I know that the Japanese are not afraid to die. I think that is a good way to live. always living life and never fearing death. After the tsunami in japan I think the people there aren’t that worried. They know that this isn’t the first tsunami and that it isn’t the last tsunami they will have to face, and they know that they have rebuilt after tsunami’s before so they could do it again. Now that they have to rebuild they can make things better. In the next year I believe that Japan will be back to normal. If in six days they can fix a road that was pretty much destroyed by an earthquake in 6 days then they can rebuild japan fairly quickly.

24 05 2011
Danielle D.

Yeah, it’s kinda remarkable how they are so brave and not to fear death. That’s so unlike Americans.

24 05 2011
Nikolas S

I think they are a little crazy, but their attitudes about life and death really pay off. They live on an island that is covered with tons of volcanoes that can explode at any moment. They live beside and IN volcanoes that can erupt at any moment.
Also the earthquake and terrible tsunami in 2011 did a lot of damage to Japan, but they overcame it and they are already fixing it up. They have already fixed many damaged highways and cleaned lots of rubble from houses and other stuff. To the Japanese, a tsunami or an earthquake is a good thing. They say,”OK, our houses are destroyed, but I didn’t like our kitchen, now we can fix it up.” Their perspective is completely different from ours.

24 05 2011
jose bopo quiroz

you are completly right. they live there life and get up and fix everything right away

24 05 2011
Danielle E

I think that the way of them is that when a tragedy happens they spend like one day on it but they go back to there normal lives and they don’t worry about what has happened to the country and so then they don’t worry about it because LIFE IS STRONGER THAN DEATH is what they say because they think that life is more important than death because they are not afraid of death at all because they take life over death

24 05 2011
jose bopo quiroz

yEa you are right because they arent afraid of death. they make things go back to normal right away.

24 05 2011
Tyler James Gibson

i think that this is good for japan. this has happened to them before and the reason i think this is good for them is because then it can give them courage that they can rebuild japan and make it a better place. it can also help be ready if it happens again. from the picture Mr Curtis put it seems that japan will end up a nice happy place. so when they are done rebuilding they can go live their life

24 05 2011
Jessica S.

When I think of Japan I think of courageous,brave people. They recover very quickly because they believe Life Is Stronger Than Death. Once that tsunami and earthquake hit they started rebuilding right away. They aren’t scared of anything because they just start a new life. What brave people !!!!!

24 05 2011
Julissa V

I agree they did start rebuilding right away.

24 05 2011
Adriana B

I agree with you because they are brave people that when things go down they know how to get right back up.

24 05 2011
Jade R.

The Japanese are amazing people. At first I thought the recovery from the big wave would take at least 5 years. My thoughts about Japan have change. I thought they were poor people who would leave there at any moment. Now i think they are strong and encouraging people who don’t show their fear, not even for death itself. My thoughts changed by seeing how they can recover their great land so easily and so fast. When the tsunami happened lives were lost, houses were brought don, and many people were injured.But it’s only been a couple of months and most of their roads are already rebuilt. I think in one year at least five cities and towns will be rebuilt. The people there will weep, but they will still work. Houses and roads will be rebuilt and injuries will be better. Everything will be back to normal on the outside world. Inside the people of Japan,though, the people will grow stronger.

24 05 2011
Sam I

Yes my thoughts have changed. Before we read this book I thought it was going to take them many long hard years. Now I think it will take as long as 2-3 years for them to recover and rebuild.

I think in a couple years Japan will be back to normal and everyone who survived will think that if they are not afraid that they will be stronger and less worried if another tsunami hits.

24 05 2011
Jessica S.

(continued) I predict the places where the tsunami hit the most they would rebuild as much as they can or rebuild it all. They are very brave and smart people to live in Japan.

24 05 2011
Eva R.

When we started reading The Big Wave in class and heard about what happened in Japan my thoughts didn’t really change that much. When the people in Japan were trying to recover after what had happened it almost like what happened in the book. The people there didn’t give up and move away. They just rebuilt the city and kept on living their life as if it never happened. They weren’t even scared. But I thought that the people in Japan were scared, but I guess I was wrong. It’s like the phrase in the book, “It’s the way of the good Japanese.”

In the next year or so I think that they’re will be more earthquakes and tsunamis but it is going to be the same as the last time as what happened in Japan. If another tsunami or earthquake comes then the people living in Japan will not live in fear of it happening again, no they will just rebuild the city. But after the tsunami in the book no one rebuilt the city, they just waited for a brave enough person to guide them to show other people that they aren’t afraid.

24 05 2011
Joseph A

The book changed my opinion of the Japanese people completely. I thought it would take years to clean up all the damage, but they have already started cleaning up. They will get it done in no time. All of Japan moved past the horrible tragedy and started to live their lives normally again. They live every day as if it were their last. The people don’t spend time mourning and crying over those who died. They get back on their feet and live like it never happened.

24 05 2011
Adriana B

When I think of Japan I think of brave people. They know they could die any time because of a wave or a volcano but they aren’t scared because they knew if they had started living their, That their are dangerous storms their. They are used to volcanoes and big waves because they know how to just get back up again and move on, I don’t think we could be like them because i think if a wave came or a volcano came we would just freak out and not know how to get back up like they do. I think in a year later for them they would be acting kind if like nothing happened a year ago.

24 05 2011
Jake R.

They have changed because now I know Japan will be OK. They can get threw it and be all right. Now they have a chance to start over. They will be bad not looking good but they will fix it and move on with there lives and act like nothing happened and that is the only thing you can do. After a while the areas will look better than before. They will be better than before. Every thing takes time and this will definitely take time but they don’t care.

24 05 2011
Julissa V

yes my thoughts have change after reading the big wave. I thought it would of took them years to recover. But they don’t roll up in a ball like we would do and they continue life and cry later after they recovery. The damages of japan probably be fix in a couple of months because they already started to fix a lot of stuff and it only been nine weeks or so. And they have already fix stuff houses and roads. There recovery pretty good. The big wave is a very good influence about Japanese culture.

24 05 2011
Maisie M.

My mind had definitely changed over the Japanese recovering from the tsunami this year after reading The Big Wave. This book made me really realize and sit down and think about how strong the Japanese are. They live life to it’s fullest knowing that they could die at any moment in time, and not fear it. Also how fast it took the Japan to recover, it’s only been about 9 weeks or so. And they are already progressing greatly. While if this happened to us in the US we would’ve probably not done anything about it and just move to some place new. But that to me is because of our attitudes and how we think about things here. I wish we thought about things like the Japanese do. They have determination for something they believe in. That’s why the quote “Life is stronger than death” really sticks out to me. It makes me think how much more we should appreciate our lives. Over the next year or so I think Japan will be fully recovered. And possibly even better than it was. Even though they have to make a fresh start, why not re-start everything and make the land even better this time.

24 05 2011
jose bopo quiroz

i learned that the japenese people take everything for grantet . they live there life everyday as if its there last. they enjoy everything around in tthem even if they are going to die. they usually have a lot of mother nature problems. they just start to rebuild. they don’t have as much as fear as we do. they are use to big stuff happening like tsunamis. they enjoy every moment like there last. i learned once they fall they get back up again. they dont just sit there and cry and hope a miracle happens. instead they have to make miracles happen.

24 05 2011
Collin \/

I think they will keep rebuilding their towns because it’s better to die trying than to live scared of death. Face death with courage, not fear. I do not doubt that there will be another wave. There will be more but they will overcome it. My thoughts have not changed, I knew that they would overcome the waves and will overcome the waves to come in the future.

24 05 2011
i like vans

I think they are different than us. They just don’t give up. They get bad storms and disasters all the time but they still keep coming back up. If we had a tsunami we would just move on to another place. They repair and use again. Jiya was brave to set a window towards the ocean.

24 05 2011
Joselin V.

This means that what ever happens to them they learn to get over it and move on like in them they know what happened was very bad but they also know to forget it ever happened to them also it is very helpful to them because they know in their hearts that they will never forget and if the lost some one then that would be something worst to forget also to the saying that that life is stronger than death i would believe that it is because to think of what would happen the next day no one knows so that’s what i think.

24 05 2011
christopher m.

My thoughts have changed alittle because when a tsunami comes over and over again you just dont think well why are they still there every time a tsunami hits its a time to rebuild in a different way. You know life is stronger than death.

24 05 2011
D.J.C.

I have not changed my thought on Japan. i know they are going through a tough time. I also have known they are very strong. My grandparents live in Japan.After the earthquake they went on with their lives as if nothing had happened. Over the next year Japan will heal themselves. They will cry when they are done. Right now though they must take care of themselves.

24 05 2011
Abbie B.

Before I read the Big Wave I thought it would take 3 or 4 years to get Japan cleaned up. Now that i have read the book I believe it will only take 7 or 8 months at the most to clean Japan up. The Big Wave changed my thoughts quite a lot. The book told us the way of a good Japanese; “Enjoy life, do not fear death” If Americans did that we would be able to clean up after a natural disaster much faster. If we were like the Japanese we would be able to say ya I will miss whoever and yes I will mourn for them but I will not mourn until the right time. They are very strong people if their house is destroyed they will say i never liked that room anyway now i get a chance to redo it. Another important quote from the book was “Life is stronger than Death”. This is something the Japanese people know that we don’t. Americans if this was to happen to us we would probably become distressed if a tsunami happened and we were left alive but all of our family and friends died. But the Japanese keep there head high and find something that’s worth living for. They know that living by an ocean and a volcano can be a good thing. The Japanese always look at the bright side of things. The volcano can burn them to death but it does give them fertile soil. Living by a ocean that can drown them easily and give them tons of food. Living in these conditions make them appreciate life more than we do.

24 05 2011
Nathan E

those kind of people learned not to be afraid. they totally just block out the pain. after that they rebuild. then they feel bad about lost loved ones. that’s a very good way of looking at things in my view. that’s what i think what do you think about those kind of people.

24 05 2011
Thaisha N

After what happened in Japan, I think that the people will start to rebuild everything. They will probably build their houses in a safer and higher area. They should put their windows towards the ocean because then they could get a warnings if the big wave ever comes back.

24 05 2011
trevor

i have different thoughts about the japan recovery because i see and here how they live. i also see how they help the people they live.

24 05 2011
SarahL

After reading the big wave my thought changes because of what happen in Japan now and what happen back then.But I do think that they could help the area that was hit and help the people in pain.And how the people are very brave to help others in tsunami.But I do think that Japan could fix what happen and find a way to help the way of people.

24 05 2011
Amani M

it hasnt changed my view on japan’s recovery at all

24 05 2011
PETE SCHAEFFER

I thought that japan would take forever to clean up.But now that we have talked about it more i dont think it will take as long.Especially once i figured out how little was effected by the wave.And i think that japan will recover from the wave easily.Now that its all over it should only take a year or so now.

24 05 2011
andreaT

i think that in the next year or so people are going to recover japan and build more protective buildings and houses. people will help japan get better. still they cant stop the damage that can happen.japan will get BETTER.

24 05 2011
Caitlyn M

I predict that the Affected areas of Japan that got hurt from there tsunami. I think that they will get lot of help from other countries.I also think that when Japan had that earth quake tsunami accident they will keep on fixing there town that got hurt from that earthquake. I also predict that japan`s town that had the accident will be fixed even better than it ever was

24 05 2011
Nicole k

I think it is a little crazy that they can recover so quickly , but when you live somewhere like that you have to be able to recover. Most people are use to volcanoes , i think that’s crazy but its just me . I sure wouldn’t be able to do that i would be scared to live there .

24 05 2011
bwhitt13

I think that since reading the big wave I have different thoughts about the Japan earthquake/tsunami. Since it took Jiya so long to recover I think that all the people in Japan will take even longer to recover. I think that since all those people died it will be even harder for everyone in Japan to get over this tragedy. Imagine of you had something bad happen in your life. Imagine that times 1,000!

26 05 2011
Thaisha N

Wow!!! I understand that it would take the people very long to recover from what happened because they lost their home and maybe their family members. Or they saw the people die in the tsunami.

24 05 2011
GABBYL

I predict that they could fix everything.I think this because what happened to India and got mostly everything done.I think Japan can get through it because they already got some of it done.Most people will work hard to help Japan. I hope that everything in Japan will get better.

24 05 2011
Danielle D.

I’ve realized that people needed to heal like Jiya. Jiya’s family was washed away but he never forgot. No one will ever forget their loved ones. So it has changed a bit. I thought people Over there were just looking for survivors. But of course I was wrong because they’re people too. They are also getting over people. Over the next year, many babies will forget because they don’t know any better. The Toddlers will remember faintly. The preteens will remember perfectly. Teens will always. Finally, I think adults will pass on, never forgetting because of all the stress they faced.

24 05 2011
lusez

I really think they did a really good job repairing Japan.

26 05 2011
Ricky M

i don’t really think that explains what happen that is just one sentence. also maybe come up with a good supporting answer.

24 05 2011
Tori H

Well, I think Japan will be the same as it was before the tsunami hit. I think that because it has happened to them a while. They now learned to live with it. Also there are some strong and brave people out there that will help rebuild and restore of where the tsunami had hit. Also when I think of Japan I think of the people who helped others survive the accident.

26 05 2011
Ricky M

i agree cause that was pretty much how i would explain what japan would be like.

24 05 2011
Ariana.M

Q=Think about what you know about Japan, as well as what you learned from the story about the Japanese mindset and their attitudes toward life and death. Have your thoughts on Japan’s recovery from the 2011 tsunami changed since reading The Big Wave? How? Predict what you think will happen in the affected areas of Japan over the next year or so.

A=I definitely think my thoughts have changed seeing the way they look at life and death, because they do not worrier about tomorrow or what is going on at home during a storm the only thing they worrier about is what they can do where they are what they can do to help, and i personally do not think i could do that i do not think i have the will to go on living knowing that my family or friends could be hurt or dead but they some how manage to block everything out long enough to figure out what they can do to help the people they they can do something for. Another thing that they are able to do that i do not think i could do is they do not fear death what kenos father said in the book was that the way of a good Japanese is to not fear death but nearly embrasure it and go on living, and his father also said does it really matter if you die from volcano or ocean or just of old age NO. What matters is today and that you do not live in fear you just live better knowing that this might be your last day or hour or minute or even second, is another thing that kenos father said. My thoughts on japans recovery has also changed i yes think that they will heal but it will take time for them to really go on living because when you think about it another way that they like to think is that maby the storm wasn’t a bad thing yes it did kill people and yes that is bad but they look at it as a new chance to start over and rebuild there cities to make it better. It will take every one time to heal from what has happened in japan but things will get better and people will move on and life will not wait for you to move you have to keep up with life while you are still living it. Before i thought that japan wouldent heal and they had all been hurt to badly but now i know that i was wrong. In the next year or so i think that physicly japan will be completly recovered but emotinoly i think it will take them a long time to get over what has happened and when i say get over i do not mean forget i mean forgive forgive the earth for hurting them and there familys forgive everyone else who was hurtful or mean to your family. i think that the cities will be rebuilt and things will be normal again but it will yes take tons of time and effort so for right now all we can do is wait and hope that people will heal that is all we can do . And even that is the way of a good Japanese..

25 05 2011
Angela Z.

After reading The Big Wave, my opinion about Japan has definitely changed. Seeing the way they handle life and death is amazing. They don’t fear death, but embrace the life they have. They don’t worry about tomorrow or the days after. Japan is very brave and strong because of the terrible things that hve happened. The Japanese people also live life to the fullest because of it. In a year Japan will probably be close to fully recovered from the 2011 tsunami. It’s very suprising that they could block out the fact that their family may be dead, and just help others in need. Personally, I don’t think I could ever be able to do that. Live your live, don’t fear death, and enjoy the little things.It may seem pretty crazy, but that is the way of a good Japanese.

26 05 2011
Ricky M

I think that my thought were changed cause now i know that people in japan have changed like when jiya’s dad told him to be brave even though that the tsunami will hit either way we will be brave cause someday they will just die either way. so now i think they’re stronger cause now they know that they will just be gone some day. so now they are being mature about it they could live on their lives and be regular people instead of being worried if it will happen again or even something worse could happen to them.so now they are happy 🙂 😉 c(:

Leave a Reply

